Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Tired

Tuesday, Oct. 03, 2006
11:46 a.m.
Sorry about this, but my morning so far has been an exercise in frustration and as I have absolutely nothing better to do right now (yeah, right) I am going to vent here, for lack of real living people (besides my cleaning lady, to whom I have already spilled my bile) to yell at.

Last August 22, the annual marker for my husband�s and my wedding anniversary, when we came back to our car after a lovely Vietnamese dinner and walk along the esplanade, we noticed that the front, driver�s side tire was low on air. So we topped it up. Over the past month and a bit, we have done this a few times, knowing that we really ought to take it in and get it looked at properly. Especially as we are driving to points west for the Thanksgiving weekend coming up, Hubby wanted me to call the garage and get it seen to.

So this morning, after filling the car with gas (and the tire with air) and doing some business at the ATM, I drove over recently-rained on streets to Costco, discovering when I arrived there that they�ve torn up the other half of the parking lot, which meant I had to do a little hunting and pecking to find a place to park my vehicle. Upon doing so, I heard a sound, a hissing, bubbling sound emanating from the front driver�s side wheel well, which I at first thought was the water dripping from the cooling car, only to see a real screw head in my tire with little bubbles forming around it, and realizing that here was the source of my air leak.

Without further ado, I got back into said vehicle and drove it to my garagiste who loaned me a courtesy car (I love these guys). This meant, you realize, that I didn�t get to do my shopping and that I have to go back out there before choir to pick up my car and return theirs. While I�m relieved that this problem has been discovered before something serious happened (like the tire exploding on the 401), it�s such a pain in the ass.

Okay, I�m done now. You can return to your regularly scheduled programming.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>