Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Rubber keys

Wednesday, Jun. 3, 2009
5:39 p.m.
Tofu is marinating, brown rice is cooking, and I have a few minutes to catch up here, something I’ve been neglecting shamefully. I spent almost two hours weeding in the garden today. Buddy Boy came out and helped by cleaning out the grass that had taken over the box where the potentillas grow. I got some cedar chips spread, but by then I was done in and had to take a break. The rest will wait for another day.

I hooked up my new keyboard and covered it with the protective plastic. It feels very strange, kind of rubbery under my fingers, and the keys are practically flush with the surface of the keyboard. It’s also very thin, and I’ve raised it by placing it on two science-fiction magazines which, laid end to end, are exactly the right length. The F-keys are also a little different than on my old keyboard, but a bit of experimentation helped me figure them out.

There is talk of me accompanying my husband when he goes to Banff in July to workshop his opera further. This talk is mainly around getting me into the writers’ programme, where authors go to work on their ouevre by day, totally self directed, and then gather in the evenings to hobnob with their fellow wizards. I like this idea. I have a whole pile of connected stories that I’ve been working on for a few years now, and this would be a great opportunity to try to make a coherent anthology out of them.

While I prefer to write creatively with a pen on paper, much of the work would be editing and rewriting the existing stories, and since I already have Word files of them, it makes no sense to recopy them by hand. To this end, my daughter has suggested that I acquire one of those little computers, about the size of a slim text book, that would be perfect for word processing, and still connect to the internet wherever it is available. This means I could indulge my internet addiction while pretending to be a bona fide author. Sounds perfect, no?

In other news, I have decided to clean out the clan stash and run off to Venice with my lover.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>