Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

We’re all sad.

Thursday, Jul. 3, 2008
10:24 p.m.
The only productive thing I have done all day is a load of laundry which has been on the line since before the rain started this morning, and will remain out there until it dries, which no doubt will be sometime tomorrow. We’re supposed to have nice weather, so let’s keep our fingers crossed, shall we? In the meantime, I even have a photograph of said indication of the power of Murphy:

DSC03379

My brother called twice today, once this morning because he was so upset by the situation at my mom’s, the food going bad in the fridge, the attitude of Frank who seemed to think he would be staying on after my mother vacates the premises. His second call was this evening after he and my other brother had been to see the home where my mother will be taking up residence. It’s lovely apparently, and everything is perfect there. She’ll be able to move in mid-August, which gives us time to prepare.

However, there is a catch. Assisted living does not come cheap. It will cost approximately $5,000 a month and this will definitely necessitate the sale of her house. While I said before that I was so sick of the situation I wouldn’t mind just getting rid of the place, now that this is going to be a fact, I am terribly saddened.

First of all, Little Princess and her BF have to find an apartment to rent. Second, I now really do have to clear out all my childhood and adolescent junk from the crawl space before the wrecking ball smashes the place to smithereens. Third, the place will be wrecked and replaced by one of those gargantuan mansions which have taken over the neighbourhood; the regal maple that is as old as I am will be chopped down and I have no idea if the little spruce overtop my father’s ashes will remain or also be uprooted. My parents built that house and it was the only home I ever knew until I was 21. I am extremely saddened to say goodbye to it.

On the other hand, it means that Frank has to go as well, whether he likes it or not. There is no need for subterfuge to get him out. A friend said to me today that it’s just a house, sentimental value aside. This is all true, and it’s one less thing to worry about when my mother dies and we have to divide the estate. But I’m sad. I can’t help it, especially since I was hoping that Little Princess would be able to live there. She is sad, too. Oh well.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>