Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

One down, one to go.

Friday, Dec. 3, 2004
10:21 p.m.
I did not go to The Lion because I don�t want to sound like a dusky-voiced lounge singer tomorrow. The concert went amazingly well, the audience leapt to its feet as always, and gave us a standing ovation. The house was packed, there were very few mistakes that I can remember (except for me not coming in right with my solo because I cannot see Jamie�s downbeat from my position on stage) and I must say that all-in-all it was a success. Plus, we get to do it all over again tomorrow night!

There were a few high points I should mention. First of all, the Willan was gorgeous, but because it was so overshadowed by the Fanshawe, no one commented on it. I will have to ask Hubby when he gets home (I don�t know how I got here before him) what he thought. My solo where I�m belting out over the choir (eight measures of raw noise on my part) went extremely well. The percussionist behind me said that he could feel the power coming out of my back! Yes, I�ve got the Power!

The only negative comment I got from people was that the percussion was very loud and the venue was too small for that number of singers and musicians on stage. We probably should have done the show in Centennial Theatre, which seats 600, and we could have limited it to one night. Our little hall seats 150 and has excellent acoustics for chamber music and solo performances, but it�s just a little too close for the volume we were producing tonight. It�s something to consider for the future.

Our conductor had a lengthy conversation with the composer on the telephone this afternoon. He sent a fax which Jamie read to us prior to the performance and which he presented to the audience in an edited format. The conductor had told him that the recordings he made during his travels through Africa more than 30 years ago are now historical documents. The Bwala dance, which figures prominently in the piece, is no longer performed since the genocide of Idi Amin. He wiped out whole tribes and cultures. It is very sad.

Otherwise it was a typical Friday, except that I spent an inordinate amount of time languishing in the bath this morning, reading my Asim0v magazine, which greatly cut into what was left for running errands. I hit C0stco and had an excessive number of free samples (chocolate�mmmm�), then dropped off some things at the framing store (two prints Hubby brought me from Newfoundland ages ago and the gorgeous acacia tree from my brother on his most recent visit), picked up the driver�s manual for Buddy Boy at CAA, and tried to have a wee nap before launching into supper preparations. I was burping garlic and broccoli during intermission, which was actually quite pleasant.

Now I am relaxing with a glass of sherry (how elegant!) and planning on an early bedtime. I still don�t know why Hubby isn�t home yet with Buddy Boy, but I shall enjoy the quiet for a little while longer.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>