Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Can’t speak, can’t sing.

Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009
8:37 p.m.
My malaise has settled in my throat and chest and become laryngitis, which is possibly the worst thing for a teacher of singing to be afflicted with. My first student this morning was also sick, so instead of singing, we talked (she talked, I whispered) music theory, and went over a rhythmically-complex passage in the piece she’s doing, and then I started introducing her to the circle of fifths. It was a little overwhelming. She has absolutely no background. Didn’t even know note names.

We had our last Spanish class for the semester, all review. The oral exams come next, and I have lots of studying and review to do. It’s a little intimidating.

I actually taught my afternoon student. He is improving by leaps and bounds, which is very encouraging. Once he gets rid of all the tension in his jaw and neck, he actually has a lovely light baritone. He’s starting to see it too. Hear it, too, I should say. It’s cool when you see the fruits of your labours.

I skipped choir. First I got permission from Herr Doktor Professor and told the choir secretary, but Hubby took me home after his last class and I lay down while he cooked dinner, and then went to bed again after eating. He’s out right now at a rehearsal for next week’s composers’ concert. The kids who had written stuff (for reed trio/duet) were very excited about the readthroughs tonight.

I got an email from the head of nursing at my mom’s residence, and she said that they will try to engage my mother in more activities and get a companion to take her out for walks regularly. This is good news. I also got a phone call from a second cousin I had tried to get in touch with apropos the party and we chatted for quite a while. We’re close in age and I remember playing with her when we were children, but we hadn’t actually seen each other since our teens. Unfortunately she’ll be out of town for my mom’s party, so I won’t see her there.

And, to add more confusion to the pot, we’ve received yet another wedding invitation for May, this one a week before my niece’s, in Toronto, which means another long trip in the car. We haven’t decided if we’ll go or not. We’ll see. It gives me another opportunity to wear my knock-out dress, though, and that should be reason enough.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>