Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Shades gone.

Sunday, Sept. 30, 2007
11:35 p.m.
Apart from losing my sunglasses, it’s been a great day. I constructed two cheese-rice strudels and an apple pie, vacuumed the floors and sat down to play on the computer when lovely Lisa arrived at my doorstep. We’ve been having fun ever since.

I took her for a walk around the neighbourhood, down the street, into the park, through the woods along the bike path to my favourite sitting rocks on the river. We weren’t alone, two high school or college-age girls were there ahead of us and a man came to sit on the river bank and read a book. We still enjoyed ourselves, watching the sunlight on the river and enjoying the warmth of this end-of-September day. Then we continued to the bridge and to the other big rock on the other side, scrambling down the scree and through the weeds. It was there that I must have lost my sunglasses, the really nice ones I bought in Florida years ago. Sigh. I’ll retrace my steps tomorrow, but I’m not too hopeful about finding them.

Lisa had arrived early enough in the day that we were able to go see Little Princess’ band play at the talent show (they were on next to last) and they were actually pretty good. The bass was too loud, viscerally loud, if you know what I mean. But I thought they sounded quite tight. Then we returned home, I baked the strudels, made a salad, sautéed snow peas with garlic, ginger and soya sauce, and served it was a fantastic cabernet from Australia someone had given us for our anniversary. Delish. For dessert: apple pie and vanilla ice cream.

Then Lisa and I fooled around with the computer and watched the first two episodes of TPB. She loved it. What a great show. Time for bed now. ’Night.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>