Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Baby, it’s cold outside.

Friday, Nov. 30, 2007
9:39 a.m.
It’s getting easier to forget about updating my diary. That’s a little scary.

In choir yesterday, we got on the risers to test out several choruses from Messiah and for the first time I stood next to a new voice student here from some Mediterranean country. She was all over the map, bad entrances, out-of-tune singing, just wrong notes in general. It kind of made my blood boil. In the parking lot afterwards I met one of the basses, a man of my vintage who lives in town, who concurred that there are people in the choir who do not look at the music from one practice to the next. That’s kind of frightening. This is a bloody hard piece. You’d think they would be interested in at least not embarrassing themselves in performance.

It’s true winter out there. We had rain which washed away all the snow, and then yesterday we had snow again, a beautiful blizzard that I watched as I filled the gas tank ($1.15/litre!) yesterday, the flakes swirling around in the lights from the pumps. Right now it’s sunny and clear, but a crisp -5°C.

Classes officially ended on Wednesday (one of my students didn’t show up--again) and as a result my 1 o’clock student never appeared yesterday either. She must have thought to herself, “Classes are over! Whee! I don’t have to go to school today!” without remembering that she had one singing lesson left. Sigh. My 2:00 o’clock came, which was good (for her) and bad (for me). Why am I doing this again?

It’s my husband’s birthday today. For approximately seven weeks he is only a year older than me, then I get older again. Joy.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>