Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Turkey shit

Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2005
11:37 p.m.
Today started with a wild turkey chase. No, I did not chase after wild turkeys, but one did chase after Little Princess as she put the garbage out for collection. We knew one had been seen in the neighbourhood, but Hubby called me to come see something when I was getting ready to leave for Latin class, and there across the street on our neighbour�s lawn was this huge bird. I went to get the camera, and it came down their driveway, crossed the street and started running at my daughter, who panicked and retreated to the safety of the garage where we were standing, except that it kept coming after her. So we closed the door and I tried to photograph it from inside the house through the window as it plucked the last of the lily-of-the-valley berries from among the brown leaves.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
When I got home after work, Hubby told me that it had come around the house and set up shop on the picnic table on the deck, undeterred by his attempts to shoo it away, and stayed there for three hours while he marked theory assignments and they stared at each other through the windows in the back door. At one point he called the SPA, which directed him to wildlife services (they only deal with domestic animals apparently), which told him that if it hadn�t left by the next day, they would come and get rid of it for him. It did finally leave, but not before depositing quite a load of turkey shit on the table which I ended up cleaning off when I got home. I�m sure we haven�t seen the last of it.

We finished Cattus Petasatus today in Latin class, safely locking Maius and Minus away in the box. It was our last class for the term. I have tons of work to do�organizing and finalizing the personal grammar and translating the Livy Patsy gave us for our take-home exam. I just have to stay away from the computer for a while, I guess.

At lunch with the boys today, we came up with the great idea of distilling a rum-like beverage from maple sugar instead of cane sugar and calling it �rumple� (that was my idea, it�s not a very good one, I�ll admit). The keyboard player in my daughter�s band (and my Latin buddy) has at his disposal a maple syrup operation run by his family. The whole idea is not so farfetched. Any thoughts?

It was Hubby�s birthday today, and also the chamber orchestra concert, which meant that we couldn�t have a traditional birthday party. Instead I had Lorraine make a carrot cake (a huge one which turned out to be way too big) which I picked up this afternoon and served at the reception after the concert, along with other goodies I bought at Costco this afternoon. We have tons of cake left over. What am I going to do with it all?

It�s been a very long day and I�m exhausted. There are still guests here, mostly students, and the violist from Montreal who is staying over, but I think it�s allowed for me to go to bed.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>