Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy Birthday Dadoo!

Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2004
11:40 p.m.
We just got back from a fabulous birthday dinner at da Toni, one of the more fashionable eateries in Sh�brooke, where we had a superb meal and a wonderful time. I managed to get to the bakery before my Latin class and purchase a cake, which sat in the trunk of the car all day but didn�t seem to suffer for it. The staff served it up with two sparklers, which was a nice touch, we sang �Happy Birthday� and promptly O.D.�d on butter-cream icing. I found the calendar that had gone missing earlier and presented it along with the annual agenda and a new leather wallet which was much appreciated and greatly needed.

The Latin test was an absolute breeze. I think I was done in five minutes. Patsy let us out a half-hour early, after we translated the Christmas story (I kept thinking of the soprano recitative from Handel�s Messiah: �And there were shepherds abiding in the fields, keeping watch over their flocks by night�) which was kind of fun. She also cancelled Thursday�s class, so the holidays have officially begun for us Latin scholars.

I used the extra half-hour to go to the bookstore and buy a birthday card for Hubby, then taught my recital student, had lunch, taught my 1:30, didn�t teach my 2:30 because she arrived sick and begged off, so I managed to sing through the music for the UpIands concert before choir practice at 4:00. That went all right. The principal, who will be unable to attend either of the performances due to an out-of-town commitment, sat in and told us that he was quite impressed. Kevin O joked that instead of me squeezing behind the timpani to get to the front of the stage for my solo, he would just whip me up and over the kettle drums. Being small is sometimes good for a laugh.

Hubby and Little Princess have both fallen asleep on separate couches, Buddy Boy has gone to bed, and I suppose I should be heading there myself. Happy St. Andrew�s Day to all, and to all a good night!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>