Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Which will toll first: wedding or funeral bells?

Sunday, Mar. 30, 2008
9:26 p.m.
The sun was shining, the ice was melting, and I spent the entire afternoon indoors at a choir rehearsal. We used the space the concert will be in, and fortunately I found that I had a better sight line to the conductor, although that may change when everyone is present. People were missing because of the Julius Caesar rehearsal going on in the theatre next door.

The band played on. JS is playing bass, and I hadn’t seen him since our anniversary party last summer. He’s so competent, it’s scary. My solo went well. Well, how could it not? I shake my head at how little I am being utilized as a vocal resource. Oh well. I think of all the music we are singing on this concert, I like maybe two or three pieces. That’s sad. Would someone please remind me why I am doing this again?

Little Princess is playing violin on several numbers, so I waited for her to finish her rehearsal afterwards and got to hear and see some of the small-group performances.

I have a touch of tendonitis in my right forearm, just below the elbow. I know what it’s from, and yet I do nothing to prevent it. It is related to using a computer mouse, specifically clicking, although typing right now isn’t helping it any. I shall ice it when I’m done here.

I spoke to my mom today. She succeeded in shocking me. First off, she told me she met a man at the seniors’ centre who was about 90 and knew her immediately but she had no recollection of him. It turned out to be the father of my very first boyfriend, someone I dated from age 14 to 17 and broke up with because I wanted to live, Marge! He later married someone else (I even went to his wedding as an uninvited guest) and became a lawyer, got religion and had four kids, not all in that order, but close enough. I had to tell my mother all about him, as she has totally forgotten that part of the past. In the process of reminding, I remembered things which I hadn’t thought of in years. My mother’s memory loss is my gain, in a way.

But she also said that she was thinking of remarrying. I took this as a joke, because she does often joke, and said that Little Princess had a friend who is an ordained pastor with marrying papers from some internet church and could perform the necessary rites. It became apparent, though, that she was not joking. She said that it’s been eight years since my dad died, she’s done her grieving, and feels it’s not inappropriate to move on and find a new husband. I was flabbergasted.

However, I never tell my mother what or what not to do. Instead, I urged her to reconsider in favour of shacking up, since no one gets married anymore. There really doesn’t seem to be much point to it. Also, I said that I thought the honeymoon would kill her. She said something to the effect that sex wasn’t that important, and I said, “Are you kidding? You’re talking about guys here. They never stop thinking about it, even when they’re nonagenarians.” My mother will be 88 on her next birthday, which is in a couple of weeks.

It’s easy for me to think this is a crock of shit. On the other hand, who am I to deny my mother conjugal happiness if it should come her way at this late date? Still, I think of all the legal ramifications were she to join her property with another and of inheritance rights and all that stuff. Quite frankly, I think she’s delusional, but I’m not the one to tell her this.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>