Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Hallelujah!

Friday, Mar. 30, 2007
10:56 p.m.
Two down, one to go. The choir concert tonight was another smash hit, sold out, audience screaming for more. The graduating choir members got up and sang the last verse of Le0nard C0hen’s Hallelujah, which brought a tear to all our eyes, those of us who are not (and never will be) graduating, especially as I count many among those young men and women my friends. So sad. But also a joyous occasion. There were flowers for the conductor, the assistant conductor, the accompanist and the choreographer (who deserved more than flowers for the amount of work she put into this show).

Afterwards there was a presentation from the graduating class to Herr Doktor Professor, a poem written by one of the graduands (my erstwhile singing student who is really a clarinettist, in fact), decorated with all their signatures and framed. Our fearless leader was very, very touched. Then of course there was the usual bottle of scotch presented by the old farts, i.e. those members of the choir who are “community members” (that includes me).

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must prepare for an early-morning departure. We meet at the arches at 6:45 a.m., board the buses and leave promptly at 7:00 to do this all over again in the city of my birth (as part of the recruitment/liaison office’s attempt to get prospective students interested in our institution), where I will be staying until Wednesday visiting my dear old mom. So, I shall be out of contact until then.

Have a great weekend everyone.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>