Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

On the road again�

Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005
8:59 p.m.
It was a scorcher today, and working in the attic was almost unbearable. It took me most of the morning just to set up my working arrangements again. Firstly, I erased the hard drive my friend Tim gave me since whatever was on it kept making my computer freeze. Then I copied the retrieved files onto it from the ZlP disk, and lo! they opened. The symphony is not lost. I felt like singing Amazing Grace when they came up on the screen with no error message. So, as before, I used the symphony to make a template for this new piece, and by the time I quit for lunch, I had copied one manuscript page. Afterwards, I actually finished another five, but these are easy pages.

Buddy Boy helped Hubby bring home a bookshelf unit which the university was going to throw out for storing manuscripts and printed scores and parts in, in return for being taken to Mr. Beattie for a haircut. He looked very spiffy. After supper he showered and I did a subtle makeup job on him to mask his adolescent acne. It was pretty good, actually, ending up looking like a healthy summer tan. He looked very spiffy in his white tux, and his girlfriend arrived in a black dress (with a fair bit of cleavage showing) and I drove them to the hotel after the requisite photos were taken in the front yard. If they turned out, I will scan them and post one here.

I have been chatting with far-flung friends, waiting for the attic to cool down sufficiently to allow me to go back to work. Now that the sun has set, it�s finally comfortable enough, so I will fire up the Quadra and see if I can get some more pages done before I hit the hay.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>