Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I read, therefore I am.

Saturday, Jul. 30, 2005
6:13 p.m.
Today�s weather was perfect for a drive in the country, which was exactly what we did. Hubby and I drove Buddy Boy to his girlfriend�s place (her parents are tree farmers in Eat0n C0rners, just outside SawyerviIIe), and then made our way to Ayers CIiff along back roads, through little towns I had never seen before. The views across the C0atic00k River towards Mount Orf0rd were spectacular, the air perfectly clear, except for the short jaunt past a pig farm in MartinviIIe.

We arrived in Ayers CIiff and descended upon the bicycle man�s shop to collect the money owed for the sale of Buddy Boy�s old bike well nigh a year ago. Ostensibly we were supposed to be finding a new bicycle for moi m�me, but nothing in the store appealed to me. We wandered to the fair grounds for the farmer�s market and had a very nice chat with Melissa, who was selling homemade soaps and jewellery. Hubby bought a cake of something sweet-smelling from her, then we bought a camembert-like cheese from a man with charmingly-accented French (he gave us free samples, and you could really taste the farm) and a box each of raspberries and blueberries from another table.

I have done no work today, but read my most recent science-fiction book. I am finally starting to make a dent in the pile next to my bed. Already I have read Hyperi0n by Dan Simm0ns and am nearing the end of the sequel, The FaII of Hyperi0n. These books are excellent, and I am now turned on to this author and will look for more of his writings.

The rest of the evening is shaping up to more of the same. So I really have nothing left to report.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>