Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy Channukah!

Wednesday, Dec. 8, 2004
8:18 a.m.
The roads are very icy in the Eastern T0wnships this morning due to the freezing rain we got yesterday afternoon and evening, and while there has been nothing on the radio (Hubby even called the school to confirm) about school closures, we sent Buddy Boy off on the school bus with trepidation. He and his drama class are off to Montreal to see a play (an annual event) and we know how treacherous the roads around Orf0rd can be at this time of year.

My 1:30 student yesterday was late (by ten minutes) and yawning so badly (she had been awake for an hour and hadn�t eaten anything) that I cut our lesson short and wished her a happy holiday. She has changed her music major to a minor (so that she can continue taking singing lessons for this year) and become a drama major instead. This is probably a very good move. But she assures me she will continue to sing in the choir and see me on a regular basis. My 2:30 never showed and called me in the evening in response to the message I left on her machine. Having been ill for her lesson last week, we never did discuss teaching schedules during exam week, so she naturally thought that since classes were over, so were lessons, although I still owe her two. We�ve worked that out and I�ll be meeting with her at 11:30 this morning and planning one more session before she leaves for the break.

Just to let you know what a bad Jew I am, I totally forgot that last night was the first candle of Channukah (or however you�re supposed to spell it). Tonight I have a rehearsal for the UpIands concert, but I�ve already set up the menorah and won�t forget.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>