Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Where’s that dog that bit me?

Saturday, Nov. 3, 2007
8:06 a.m.
It’s too early and I’m too tired and maybe hung over, although probably not considering it wasn’t really that much beer I had last night, but I certainly felt drunk (and probably was), but as Jenn kept reminding me, I’m only half a person size-wise, so I guess that makes sense.

I entered the Na Nu Na Nu writing contest that everyone is talking about this month and actually got over two thousand words written yesterday. I have serious doubts about whether or not I’ll make the 50,000 requirement by the end of the month, but it certainly doesn’t hurt to try. I don’t have the time to sit down and compose everyday, which is kind of sad. But if I can spend the time I am at the computer in a more productive manner than I usually do, then it will have been worth it.

Last night a soprano with an enormous voice gave a concert at the department, with Ms. Piano as her accompanist. When I say enormous, I mean that our little concert hall with the excellent acoustics was not big enough for her. We all experienced moments of such intensity that our ears were ringing. But she does have a lovely voice, in terms of pure sound, and when she was singing more softly, there were some gorgeous moments. Her programme was interesting, including Russian and Spanish songs based on folk melodies (those ones both Ed and I thought she was oversinging) and the Strauss 4 Last S0ngs, which I performed so many years ago I’ve forgotten exactly when with our sadly departed (gone, not dead) faculty member. Every time I hear them I’m reminded of how difficult they are. Last night’s performer would certainly sound better with an orchestra behind her, as she totally overpowered the piano.

Afterwards, after the reception in the lobby and the rerecording of the Spanish pieces which the technician’s computer decided it didn’t have enough room for earlier, a bunch of us adjourned to the Lion, Jenn, Ms. Piano, her new boyfriend, Hubby, and I, and we were joined presently by Herr Doktor Professor, and a couple hours of hilarity ensued. I admit, I drank too much beer, although I was only drinking half-glassfuls to everyone else’s full ones. We parodied bits of Messiah (Jenn is coming to our rehearsal this morning to turn pages for Ms. Piano) and covered all sorts of topics before first Herr Doktor and then we peeled off and went home. It was 1 a.m.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to get read for a 9:30 marathon rehearsal.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>