Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Blessed are the meek, for they make great scapegoats.

Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2004
8:31 p.m.
Thank you everyone who answered my question. Thank you especially to bindyree for throwing it out to her larger readership. The internet is a weird and wonderful place which allows us to hook up with a greater number of people who have the same interests as we do in a way that has heretofore been impossible. More and more I am hearing of couples who met on the World Wide Web and have made happy lives together. When you think about it, it�s really not that much different from the days of the morning and afternoon post, when Elizabeth Barrett and Robert Browning wrote love letters to each other, never having met, but knowing that the other was the man/gal for her/him. The internet has merely enabled us to toss the net farther, respond more quickly and shorten the distance. That doesn�t mean that it is without its faults. There are still people I have started email relationships with who never kept up their end of the correspondence, just as in the past they never would have kept up their side of the snail-mail exchange. The technology has changed, but people basically have not.

In Latin we have just learned all the tenses we will ever need to know: present, imperfect, future, perfect, pluperfect and future perfect. It is extremely logical, but now I must memorize a plethora of endings. There are also four conjugations, each with its own distinct way of adding on endings. I had better get this stuff down pat, because the next few noun declensions are just waiting to jump onto the train, and I fear that I will be left in the station. But, as I suspected, it�s still a heck of a lot easier than ancient Greek. Mind you, I think I shall go back and redo German once I�ve completed this. What I once thought was amazingly difficult now looks like a piece of cake.

Right after Latin and an email check, I drove home for a quick lunch, then into Sh�brooke to pick up coffee at the coffee store (fresh-roasted black Kenyan) and to the supermarket to buy supplies. I got back just in time to put them away and take Little Princess to school for her 1:30 class and for my 1:30 lesson. My two Tuesday girls are coming along really well. The 1:30 had a crackle in her upper register, the result of working at a summer camp and screaming her lungs out during frosh week, which is finally gone. The area is still a little tender, but at least it is solid. My 2:30 is one enthusiastic babe, a real pleasure to teach. They�re both hard workers and even if they aren�t the most talented or blessed singers (in terms of natural instruments), they are showing steady improvement and will hopefully be able to make the most of what Mama Nature gave them.

Choir was a little pokey today. We are learning this Fanshawe piece in fits and starts, which is contrary to how I have always experienced choir rehearsals. I think the conductor does it this way because we have so many in the group who don�t read music. I was very hungry, as well, which didn�t help matters.

Now Hubby is glued to CNN watching the U.S. presidential election returns. I don�t bother to watch myself, since I figure I�ll get the news sooner or later, and whether I watch or not will not affect the outcome one way or another. But I hope for all my American friends in Diaryland and elsewhere that your wishes are granted.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>