Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

How I spent the first of December.

Saturday, Dec. 2, 2006
9:26 a.m.
Yesterday is gone and I’m already forgetting it before I’ve had a chance to set it down in words. There was a studio recital at noon and two singers (neither of them mine although one used to be) were up first. After they were done, they left, just packed up their stuff and left, while a clarinettist, a pianist and three jazz guitarists did their stuff. One of the students said of their retreating backs after it was all over that it was incredibly rude. All music students studying a first instrument are required to be at these things and to sign in, but what makes the singers think they are so above the rest of their colleagues that they can just walk out after they’re done?

After all this, I was finally able to drag Hubby to the Captain for pho, and we were joined by Little Princess, Ed and Ollie. It was fun. I’m afraid Hubby was not as enthusiastic about the soupe tonkinoise as I was hoping he would be. He was also less than thrilled with the ambience of the Captain’s place, being a very low-budget diner-type restaurant, with a buzzing flurorescent light that drove me crazy at times. I can overlook that when good food is the objective.

I remember a similar thing when we were in Kalamata, Greece, looking for a place to eat lunch. The kids and I spotted a restaurant, a small, family affair (most restaurants in Greece are small family, affairs), but Hubby was hesitant because it didn’t look that nice inside. We were starving and simply overruled him by sheer volume, and there didn’t seem to be anything else open nearby. It turned out to be one of the nicest restaurant meals we had during our sojourn in the land of Leonidas, and for dessert, free of charge, the waiter served us some absolutely delicious cake his mother had made. That is my reason for not judging a book by its cover, or a restaurant by its ambience (although I do actually judge books by their covers).

Anyway, I took the kids back to Ed’s place where they were preparing booklets of lyrics for their performance at the Java last night, I went home and made chocolate cupcakes for the bakesale during intermission today and tonight, and we got to the café about 8 p.m. (some other group was playing when we arrived). We have never heard their band sound so good. They did a great job. My daughter played a kick-ass screaming lead electric violin solo, and I was so proud of her. Moments like those are why I love being a mom.

After that we joined her BF and the drummer and a couple of his friends at the Lion and drank beer, waiting for Little Princess and the others to arrive. They hadn’t eaten since that afternoon’s pho, so went to the other Grec across the street to stoke their furnaces. We got home late, and today I have two choir performances to stand through. This will be an ordeal, believe me.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>