Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A wedding and a play about newlyweds.

Saturday, Aug. 2, 2008
11:26 p.m.
The rain held off until late afternoon, which was a good thing for today’s wedding. Little Princess and I went to the chapel even though we weren’t officially invited and the bride was very glad we had come. She was beautiful, the groom was handsome, everyone was clean and in their finest duds, and it turned out very well. The Duchess played the organ, Hubby played guitar during the signing of the register, and the congregation sang some hymns which I didn’t know, so I didn’t join in.

The only fly in the ointment was the religiosity of the ceremony. There was way too much God and Jesus stuff for my liking, but the really annoying part was the special blessing given by the pastor of the church these young people usually attend (the presiding minister was someone else entirely). He called upon the love of Jesus to consume this couple, and I was quite frankly horrified by the image it conjured up. Gah!

After supper, since Hubby was playing at the reception with his trio, Little Princess, Buddy Boy and I walked to the studio theatre to see a production of Baref00t in the Park which was really very good. I loved the movie which I recall seeing sometime in the 70’s, and these kids did a really fine job. My kids stayed behind to help strike the set and then go to the cast party afterwards, and I walked home in the rain.

And that was my day.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>