Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�ll huff, and I�ll puff, and I�ll blow your house down!

Sunday, Oct. 29, 2006
7:26 p.m.
All day the wind has been tearing around the house as though seeking entry. I decided to throw caution to the winds (no pun intended) and start a fire in the wood stove, even though the chimney sweeps haven�t been yet. It seemed to draw fine, which means that the flue is not totally plugged. There were still partially charred logs left over from last winter, and tons of paper, evidence of tax time. It�s been a while since I looked inside the stove.

The warmth it generated was quite welcome on this damp day. At first light, I arose to snow on the ground, the first dusting of the season. It melted quickly enough, not being below freezing, but all day it fell, alternating with rain. This is truly the weather that I despise. There has even been intermittent thunder.

My day has been spent doing laundry, Latin homework, cooking, chatting online, and accomplishing very little in general. I�m still on a bit of high from last night�s concert, which is a nice thing. It�s a good thing Hubby and I didn�t go to the Hallowe�en party where my kids were, even though we were invited.

Apparently it was all about �getting wasted�, something I haven�t done in a very, very long time. Little Princess said that one of her friends ended up throwing up on the kitchen floor, and she had to clean it up. One of the roommates of the party thrower (who is an asshole apparently even when he�s sober) broke a beer bottle. Buddy Boy partook of illegal substances and felt no pain, which is another reason I�m glad we weren�t there.

Look, would you have wanted your parents at a party where you were inebriated and high? And yet, Little Princess said that the girlfriend of the party thrower, who also happens to be in my Latin class, remarked towards the end of the evening, �Aw, Elgan never came.� So weird.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>