Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

One down, two to go.

Thursday, Mar. 29, 2007
11:17 p.m.
One choir concert down, two to go. Well, that’s the good news. The bad news? Actually, there isn’t any. Well, not yet. People have been spewing their germs (sneezing, coughing, generally being unhygienic with their bodily emissions), and I have been caught in the crossfire more times than I can count. Even Buddy Boy is feeling ill. I am dosing myself mightily with echinacea and whiskey (the latter even as we speak) and I hope to avoid it. The last thing my mom needs is for me to bring illness into her house.

So, you’re dying to hear how the choir show went. Well, I know that one of you is dying to hear how the choir show went. It was actually pretty darn good. Yeah, there were a few flubs, some gaffes by the guitarist and in my quartet from Kismet I used a wrong word. But all in all, it went pretty well. There were some sound problems, i.e. people used microphones in some pieces but not in others, and there were difficulties with hearing soloists. I know exactly what piece the guy who made the remark was referring to, in fact. We packed Centennial Theatre, and tomorrow night is sold out. We’re talking a 550-seat theatre. We used to play to full houses for three nights in our 150-seat department concert hall. Here we’ve more than tripled our audience in one night. Not bad.

Okay, I think I deserve to get to bed before midnight after all my hard work. Toodles.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>