Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Yawn�

Tuesday, Mar. 29, 2005
10:34 p.m.
We had our last writing group for a while, breaking for the month of April to resume on May 3. I shall miss our meetings, but this has been a very fitful term for the Black Cat diehards. Hopefully we shall feel refreshed in a month�s time. I for one am exhausted.

In Latin this morning we translated Ovid�s rendition of �Pyramus and Thisbe� as found in The Metamorphosis, minus the poetic meter. Such a sad tale. We have a test on Thursday on past, present and future participles, and I think I understand this, no problem, but I still have to memorize a whole bunch of vocabulary.

Several days ago I bought a couple of green plantains and left them to ripen on my counter. Tonight for dinner I picked the one with the black spines and brown spots (the other should look like this in a day or two), sliced it into many thin pieces on the diagonal, and fried them in olive oil in my fancy new wok. It was delicious, even without salt, pepper or other condiment. This vegetable cum fruit is slightly sweet, reminiscent of sweet potato in texture, but much more subtle in flavour. The frying just seems to bring out the taste, plus it gets crispy on the outside and smooth on the inside. I will definitely start using these banana relatives more in my cooking.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>