Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I got good news and I got bad news.

Wednesday, Jun. 29, 2005
10:37 p.m.
I apologize for my verbosity of yesterday. I was going ever so slightly crazy. Today there has been some resolution, not the answer I wanted, but at least an answer of sorts.

The rain that had held off for days finally arrived in a thunderstorm this morning. It woke me around 6:00 when I got up to close windows, then tried to sleep some more. At 8:00, just after I had dozed off, our alarm system started chirping, which it does when the power goes out. This necessitated turning off the chirping feature; then the phone rang, and it was time to get up. Hubby is teaching guitar at a music camp which has taken over the department for this week and next and the jazz clarinettist called from Montreal to ask him if he would teach a jazz pianist a lesson (he did, explaining the circle of fifths and 9th and 11th chords) and take his brass choir rehearsal. The power came back on and we were able to have tea and coffee respectively and get on with it.

Buddy Boy�s friend Gab had slept over, so the three of us headed up to M00re�s to pick up the prom suit. I couldn�t believe how handsome my little boy looked in that white tux. Absolutely gorgeous. No wonder the girls are fawning all over him.

Then, after lunch, I went over to my friend�s house and he ran my damaged disk through a program called Disk Warri0r which rebuilt the directory. It was successful, and we copied all the files onto his hard drive and then onto a new ZIP which I had brought for that purpose. I haven�t yet tried to open any of them. They can wait. The important thing is that there was no sign of Op. 67, the piece for the TSO. It is in limbo somewhere, unable to be read and accessed and brought back into this sphere of existence. It is as though it had never been. This means that I must recopy it, from scratch, and prodigiously make backups. My friend very generously gave me a SCSII 1200 MB hard drive which he has no further use for, so I can work on that instead of ZIP disks. I do not want to hear the �click of death� ever again.

While I was there, I noticed that their jade plant in the living room was sprawled all over an armchair. I commented on this to my friend�s wife, and she said that she has had that plant for 30 years, starting from practically a cutting. The branches now have diameters of 2" or more and the thing is taking over their living room. I suggested that perhaps she could divide it up and pot the divisions, giving them away as gifts. She responded that she didn�t know who would want one, and I said, �I do.� So, she proceeded to cut off the huge branch which had taken over the furniture and gave it to me. It is now planted in a pot on the deck and I hope it fares well. It is like a little tree itself.

This evening I managed to hear part of one movement of Dvorak�s piano quintet played by some of the teachers at the music camp. It was refreshing. I haven�t heard live classical music played well in a while. Now I must ready myself for long hours at the Quadra to recopy this score. This means I will not get to play online with my invisible friends very much. I shall miss them. But I will still update. My sanity demands it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>