Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sizzling!

Wednesday, Jul. 29, 2009
9:46 p.m.
So hot today. I sat around in my pyjamas trying to copy music at my computer in the attic, and finally gave up around 4:30 p.m., had a lukewarm bath and got dressed and practised, except that what I had chosen to wear was too much and I ended up changing into a very skimpy halter dress I bought in the Dominican Republic a couple of years ago. Very skimpy.

Hubby asked me earlier if I wanted to go somewhere cool this evening, and I hadn’t chosen anything in particular when he got back from playing tennis (how anyone could play in this heat is beyond me). At that point the skies turned black and a wind arose. The clouds above churned and rain poured onto the west side of the house.

When it finally abated, we went to a restaurant called L’Olive Bleu in a defunct Catholic church. The sanctuary has been turned into an art gallery and the restaurant is right at the front, where the vestibule would have been, and it was lovely. We dined on the terasse and a former piano student of ours was waitressing, so she served us and everything was perfect.

Earlier in the day, at 2:50 p.m., the phone rang and another former student, a guitarist, asked me where Hubby was, as he had been waiting for him at the Lion. I looked at Hubby across the attic from me with a questioning gaze and he freaked as he was supposed to meet this guy at 2:30. So I told the young man that Hubby had just left and should be there any moment, and Hubby rushed out the door and I hope made up some excuse to cover his ass.

The rain cooled off the air quite a bit, but according to my desktop widget, we’re in for another thunderstorm tomorrow.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>