Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Susie

Saturday, Jul. 29, 2006
12:40 p.m.
There is a cat who lives in the neighbourhood who has adopted us as her own. She is a very pretty little thing, well fed, in good health, and she has taken to hanging around on our back deck, watching us through the screen door, looking for opportunities to get into the house. She has succeeded on a number of occasions now, not usually getting farther than the kitchen, but this morning she managed to open the door (the lock is not working) by hooking her claws into the screen and pulling, and got upstairs before she was retrieved and evicted. It's not that I have anything against cats per se (except perhaps that they're not dogs, but I don't want one of those either, at least not until I'm old and alone and in need of companionship), but I am allergic to them and it's only a matter of time before I start to develop symptoms if she's allowed into the house.

We don't know whose she is, but we have named her Susie in order to have a point of reference. She does actually respond to the name, although it's extremely unlikely that that's what her owners call her. At my instigation, Hubby has put a hook into the door frame and we can use an elastic band to discourage her from opening the sliding screen door. I hope that works. I don't relish the thought of her dander on our furniture.

Here she is:

Susie

|

<~~~ * ~~~>