Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Mitre is mightier than the microphone.

Thursday, Jan. 29, 2009
11:13 p.m.
The university where I work and study has been putting out a literary publication for the past 115 years or so. I have had submissions published in the last three, and this year’s offering received its official launch today. I was asked to read from my piece, and I did so, but the situation was rather inauspicious.

The launch was held in the student pub at 5:00 p.m., which happens to be Happy Hour. There was a lot of talking among people who were not there for the literary launch, but just to drink beer. The P.A. system was terrible. Even though I enunciated very well and modulated my speaking tones, unless you were standing directly in front of the house speakers, my words were unintelligible.

There was free beer for the contributors, though, which was nice.

We had to dig out from last night’s snowfall this morning. The car in the driveway was totally covered, and the end where the plow had been by was impassable. As it happened, a neighbour with a truck equipped with a plow came by as we were shoveling and did the end for us, so we were just left with the lighter, fluffier stuff to get rid of. That saved an awful lot of time.

Winter is quickly losing its charm.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>