Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It’s real this time.

Friday, Aug. 29, 2008
9:46 p.m.
Tomorrow is the big day. We drive to the rental place to pick up the truck my daughter ordered at 9 a.m., then take it to her boyfriend’s so he can load his stuff, bring it to our place so she and Buddy Boy can load their stuff while Hubby and I go to a wedding (for him it’s a gig, but the father of the bride said the musicians can bring their wives). Then we drive all the way to Cambridge the following day (nine hours minimum--Hubby in the truck, me in the Subaru), pick up Buddy Boy’s stuff that he left there last spring, stay overnight, then drive back to Toronto the following morning (Monday), move Buddy Boy into his new place, then move Little Princess and the BF into their new place and take the truck to the drop off location. Hubby and I will stay in my mother’s house, and then drive back to the Townships Tuesday morning. Somewhere in there we have to get in a visit with my mom.

What is worrying me most is driving all that way by myself. I hate driving long distances and my kids (and the BF) don’t have a single driver’s license between them. In this day and age, that’s crazy.

Tonight I made a lovely barbecue dinner for the four of us plus Ed, who will likely miss Little Princess as much as I will. I did salmon steaks and zucchini on the grill, broccoli in the wok and boiled diced potatoes, followed by a peach crumble with vanilla ice cream for dessert. It was really very yummy. Then Buddy Boy’s friends came over and they sat on the deck and partook of jello shots (I had one, it tasted of cherry). The mosquitoes were fierce. I have more bites in addition to the ones I got yesterday weeding.

I also cut my finger rather badly when I was slicing potatoes. It would not stop bleeding and I finally tried using styptic pencil on it, to no avail. So I got my son to help me bandage it up, and that kept it, at least, from bleeding all over my cooking. This always happens after I sharpen my kitchen knives.

So if I’m not here on these hallowed pages for a few days, you’ll know why.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>