Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

You know who you are.

Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006
1:59 p.m.
I'm a little sad today. It was to be my date with a fellow diarist, a rencontre we had planned a couple of months ago, marked in my agenda in bold letters. I was to pick her up at the bus station at 11 a.m. and we were going to walk and eat and chat and entertain each other (much like my first meeting with teranika) until returning her to the depot to catch the 8 p.m. bus home. It was not to be. I sent her a reminder email a few days ago, just to make sure we were still on, and yesterday she replied that she couldn't do it, the anxiety level was too high. She thought she'd be able to overcome her fear of meeting a stranger, but she could not.

I would be lying if I said that I wasn't disappointed, that it didn't bother me at all. But I understand that for some people, leaping into the unknown (even if it's only two hours away from home) can be a very scary proposition. We get so many warnings about the internet and all the predators lurking thereon, waiting for the gullible and easily victimized to fall into their clutches. But I'm not a predator, honestly!

I have way too much work right now to be entertaining people from out of town anyway, but I had been looking forward to this. Okay, I'll let you off the hook this time, unnamed diarist, but don't think that this means I'll stop pestering you.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>