Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

April is the cruelest month.

Sunday, Apr. 29, 2007
8:13 p.m.
Les impôts sont finis, sont mis dans leurs envelopes, prêt à porter chez le bureau de poste première chose demain and then I can breathe a big sigh of relief. Every year I tell myself I will do my taxes early, every year I gather the information slips as they arrive and put them in a safe place, and then at the last minute, every year, I am sitting at the kitchen table, eraser dust everywhere, pieces of paper all over the place, trying to figure them out. Well, they are due tomorrow, actually must be postmarked by tomorrow, and they are now done. Thank the gourd!

The good news is that I am getting a healthy refund from both feds and queds, having overpaid both with quarterly instalments in the first half of last year. The bad news is that my income has dropped so low (I hardly have any students anymore and my investment interest is way down) that my daughter, a full-time student, made almost as much as I did. It hardly seems fair, somehow.

I did get out of the house for about an hour, though, to teach my college student who didn’t get to go over everything in her lesson on Friday. Otherwise I have been here all day, poring over forms, trying to figure out what a PPIP is and whether I overpaid in my EI contributions, and various things like that. Enough! We shall now speak of other things.

Ed is composing a combination script from Byron’s Manfred and the various Faust plays to mount sometime early in the summer, and would be delighted if I would be involved. He thinks I would make an awesome Nemesis. I kind of like the idea of being awesome. I think it’s right up my alley. Awesome El. They’ll be talking about me for generations to come. “How awesome was she?” “She was so awesome she could make a person drop dead just from wishing it.” “Wow! That’s pretty damned awesome!”

|

<~~~ * ~~~>