Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Desire Caught by the... yawn...

Wednesday, Oct. 28, 2009
10:26 p.m.
I realize that there are stories I have not told. I apologize. For instance, I didn’t tell you about the happy ending to the boot saga. I followed the advice of my friends and took the boots to the shoemaker they recommended, an older, gruff man, whom I remembered from when he had his shop in our little town (when it was still a town, and not a borough). It was where the Java is now, in fact. Anyway, he looked at them, grunted something, and the next day I received a call that they were ready. My god, I was amazed! He had repaired the soles and the heels, even attaching a corrugated rubber bit to the bottom so that they won’t slip on the ice, and had also repaired the backs where the seams were undone. On top of that, he’d polished them and they look brand new. Pbtht! to that other shoemaker! When I told Little Princess about it, she asked if I could take a boot of hers which was losing its sole and heel to him as well, so I did, and he repaired that. So I didn’t need to buy new boots after all.

The shawl is coming apace. I have ripped back a few times since that entry, but it continues to grow nonetheless.

Yesterday’s entry was our warm-up write in writing group on Monday night. Carolyn gave us a poem to read that had that line about “unsaid words”, and we were to go from there for ten minutes. While it hints at my own unuttered thoughts, it is not specifically about them.

I went to see the drama department’s offering tonight. It was rather strange and strangely done, and I confess I dozed off at some point. At least it was brief, and ended by about 9:00 p.m. Perhaps it will be an early night tonight.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>