Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Going for baroque.

Saturday, Oct. 28, 2006
10:57 p.m.
I have returned from the most amazing concert. Suzie LeBIanc and DanieI TayI0r sang a programme of HandeI love duets and the Perg0Iesi Stabat Mater accompanied by Montreal�s premiere baroque orchestra, EnsembIe Ari0n. It was amazing. Oh, I said that already. Well, it really was. Their voices are incredibly well matched and their ornamentation was right on. Did I mention that he�s a counter tenor? Such a gorgeous voice. I was just blown away.

Speaking of blown, it was incredibly windy today. We had planned to rake leaves, but �twas not to be. It also rained, and we experienced several brown outs. Hubby was worried because he hadn�t heard yet from his parents, who left for Florida on Monday and were supposed to arrive on Wednesday evening. He called his sister and brother, and the former called back to say she hadn�t been able to get through to them. Finally, Hubby was able to speak to the property manager for the campground where they have their house, and she told him that they had taken an extra day and everything was fine. Phew!

While I was talking to my sister-in-law, Suzie was staring at me and clawing at the glass of the kitchen door. I mentioned this on the phone, and my SIL recommended that we get an insulated cat house, line it was straw and old towels, and it could be a place for Suzie to shelter from the cold and I wouldn�t have to let her into the house. I think that�s a marvellous idea.

Little Princess and I went grocery shopping this afternoon as well. She and her brother went to a Hallowe�en party tonight, dressed as vampire hunters. They needed garlic for their costumes, so I bought a variety of groceries, and she bought two bulbs of garlic, one for each of them. We also went to the liquor store, and were immediately offered a sample of CycI0ne (rum, tequilla and lime juice) with cranberry slush. It was interesting, shall we say, but very welcome after braving the cold wind and rain outside.

As we were standing in line to pay for our purchases, the power cut out for approximately five seconds. But it took several minutes for the computer to come back online, which meant that no transactions could be made until then. You might expect that people would start to get irate, but everyone was so mellowed out from the CycI0ne tasting that the mood was quite jovial. Only in Quebec!

Well, �tis late. I still have HandeI and Perg0Iesi floating around in my head; hopefully they will usher in pleasant dreams.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>