Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

This entry has been modified. If you are just reading it now, you missed out on all the juicy bits.

Saturday, May 28, 2005
7:40 p.m.
It was actually sunny and warm today, enough so that I hung out two loads of wash (one is still out there, don�t let me forget to bring it in before the dew settles) and started in on some gardening. I ripped out both the lavender bush and the globe cedar, the former not having survived our particularly harsh winter and the latter looking bedraggled and motheaten. Where the former had been I planted the burgmansia which wintered over in the garage, rather dessicated looking, but still green where I trimmed away the dry, wrinkly bits. Hopefully it will come back to life and reward me with some of those glorious trumpet-shaped blossoms that prompted me to buy it in the first place.

I totally forgot to mention yesterday that I received an invitation to a July wedding, the actual invitation this time, having received a notice a couple of months ago that the invitation was on its way. I have no idea why people need to spend so much money on postage and stationery. This couple (the daughter of my second cousin, making her my second cousin once removed and a young man I believe I was introduced to at her cousin�s wedding two years ago) even have their own web page, complete with gift registry and directions, places to stay and things to do while in town. It seems a little excessive to me, but hey, this is the information age.

I mentioned this to an online friend and asked what kind of people put up a website of this fashion, and he answered, �People with too much time on their hands.� But it actually seems like a good idea, albeit a little impersonal, in order to disseminate a lot of information in an efficient way. Gift registries I always find a little tacky though. We usually buy the bride and groom a lovely piece of pottery, something both useful and decorative which has our particular personality stamp on it. A cookpot they can get anytime.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>