Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sideways�and upsidedown�and backwards.

Tuesday, Jun. 28, 2005
8:22 p.m.
I promise this is the last one for today. I have totally shot my load, as the saying goes.

True to my word, I watched Sideways this afternoon, escaping into the cool of the basement. It was a very fine film. I now know more about oenology (or viticulture) than I ever thought I would want to (and I already knew a fair bit) as the action in the film takes place on a tour of the Santa Barbara wine region, including wine tastings and discussions with experts on the merits of different grapes, plus a very detailed description of the particularities of the pinot noir variety. I recommend it. But be forewarned, there are no car chases, no explosions, no high-powered weapons going off and the only fight takes place between one of the main characters and the woman he has been screwing when she finds out he was only using her. In spite of those glaring plot omissions, my 16-year-old son still thought it was a work of art.

I spoke to my mom after supper. She is insane, but of course I would never tell her this to her face. She has a cousin who lives in Ottawa (she herself is in Toronto) whom she would love to have come to this wedding in July. The cousin cannot travel alone, so my mother, at 86 and going blind from macular degeneration, is going to take the train to Ottawa, pick up my cousin, come back to Toronto, put her up, and then take the train with her back, returning on her own. Now, tell me if that is not one feisty woman there.

Yesterday at Vlad�s pool, she told me that she has been seeing the Duchess regularly, doing Qui G0ng with her, an ancient Chinese meditation form to align psychic energies, and that they have re-established their friendship. I feel a little left out. I would be there for her, but I think she prefers if I keep my distance. When I said to Vlad that even at the height of our friendship, the Duchess was not the kind to call me, Vlad said the the Duchess needs her, that�s why she calls her. But, and this really hurt, Vlad is a Christian and that is very important to the Duchess right now who is looking to strengthen her soul as well as cure her body. Just because I am a godless heathen, my own spiritual energy counts for nought? I think not, my friends.

Okay. I think I�m finally done.


from tcklyrpharsn :

Question pour vous: What makes you so sure that the Duchess doesn�t want to hear from you? Has she said as much? And re: �Just because I am a godless heathen, my own spiritual energy counts for nought?� Sorry, but I do think that you may be projecting a little bit. If you don�t want to call, don�t call, and don�t feel guilty about it. But don�t imagine that it�s because she doesn�t want you to that you�re not calling. Just a little tough love from your friend J.

from tcklyrpharsn :

p.s. reading over that, it sounds pretty aggressive. it�s meant to be something to chew on, not an attack.

from elgan :

Sorry it came off sounding the way it did. I think it was the way Vlad put it to me, as if it was because I wasn�t a Xian that the D wasn�t calling me and was calling her. I think I was put out by her manner. I know very well that the D would not turn away my overtures at friendship, but she is husbanding her energies carefully these days, and I don�t want to stretch her thin at all. But I suppose a phone call every now and then wouldn�t hurt.

from tcklyrpharsn :

Gotcha. And I think we all know how caustic the Vlad can be sometimes, without intending to be. But yeah, I agree that a phone call every now and then couldn�t hurt. I bet it would mean a lot to both of you...xxxx

from zuzus-petals :

I really wanted to like Sideways, but I just didn�t - couldn�t bring myself to it� hard as I tried. I know so many people who loved it and I feel like I just missed something. Any rate.. I think it's �Qi� not �Qui� - I think� not 100% sure� or maybe it�s both ways depending on preference or something.

from elgan :

I think the spelling changes with the speller, considering that it is a transliteration from Chinese anyway. I think I used this particular one because it is rarer, or wrong, and I am less likely to be found through a search engine. But I�m glad you�re so observant! Lovely photos of late. I�m really enjoying them.

from time2 :

But you are a godless heathen!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>