Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Update No. 2, and counting

Tuesday, Jun. 28, 2005
12:11 p.m.
Yesterday there were two packages in the mail box and a notice for a third. One was a box of cosmetics from Yves R0cher (including sparkly gold eyeshadow and apricot cologne), one was two books I had ordered from BOMC, and the third to be picked up was my daughter�s electric violin, with customs to be paid. The package I have been awaiting from a far-flung time zone was not there, nor was it in the mailbox this morning either. Sigh.

Little Princess was very excited about her new instrument. She bought it from ebay very cheaply, it�s purple, and has an extra low C string, so it can also play viola repertoire. This will take a bit of getting used to. The tuning pegs were very hard to turn and the instrument was very out of tune, and as soon as she�d get it even slightly up to pitch, it would slide out again. This is the way of new strings and instruments. It will get better.

I was happy about the books. One is Eats, Sh00ts and Leaves by Lynn Truss and as I was reading the foreward, I found a grammatical error on the second page. Tsk tsk. The other is Kazu0 Ishigur0's most recent novel, Never Let me G0. I adored his Remains 0f the Day, and I look forward to reading this one when time and the huge pile of books beside my bed permits.

The thing that did come in the mail today that upset me was a letter from the vice-principal academic regarding the course evaluations some of my students filled out this spring. I got my seniority point for each of the two first and second year courses I taught, but was denied one for the recital course because the student taking it gave me a bad evaluation. Since there was only one student enrolled in the course with me, I know who it is, which is really unfair to her since these things are supposed to be anonymous. But I�m very surprised she would give me a bad evaluation. Sucks.

Anyway, back to the lost data thing: I telephoned a friend of mine in town (one of the members of the barbershop quartet whom I have known for a long time and who is extremely Macintosh savvy) and we arranged that I will go over tomorrow with my damaged disk and he may be able to recover the data in a more intact, i.e. readable, form. Until then, I wait.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>