Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Another one bites the dust.

Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2004
8:06 p.m.
My mom just called and told me that another one of her cousins bit the dust. I really liked this particular cousin, although I hadn�t seen him in years. He was 81 and had a heart attack, and that was it. So I�m a little subdued now, feeling my mortality, and thinking about my mom who, at 85, is the oldest cousin and yet watches ones younger than she fall by the wayside. I can only imagine how she must feel.

The moment I arose this morning I started cooking, chopping onions, garlic, potatoes, carrots and celery for a bean and barley potage that I let simmer all morning; then I made an Irish soda bread using only 1/4-cup wheat flour, substituting oat flour, rye flour and corn meal for the rest. It turned out amazingly well: coarse and hearty. I also made a green salad with sliced avocado (at the perfect stage of ripeness) and an apple crisp, again with oat flour.

Our friends arrived noonish with their two adorable little boys in tow. The younger one (3 1/2) is very bright and the older one (5 1/2) has been diagnosed as mildly autistic. They were a handful. Luckily Buddy Boy acted as their guardian all afternoon and the grownups were able to have grownup conversation after the conclusion of the meal (which was a great success, by the way). Dave has a new project on the go that will stir up a load of shit in music theory circles. After years of analyzing music to death, note by note, he has decided it�s time to take a more holistic approach and examine the way the elements of a piece interact with each other instead of reducing it to a dry husk. This is more along the lines of how composers think, and that actually makes sense when you consider that it�s composers and not theorists who are writing the music. It should be interesting to see what insights he comes up with. He�s one smart cookie.

After they left at 4:30, Hubby and I cleaned up the mess, put away the toys, and moped a bit. It seems as though our really good friends live far away. I still can�t get over the fact that the Duke never came by with his Christmas baking on the 24th, which means that we really aren�t their friends anymore. Sigh. I wonder if Vlad got any. I�ll have to ask her.

At 6:30 Hubby phoned Maison de cin�ma to see if they had any movies playing in English, and lo! The Aviator was on, but it started at--wait for it--6:30! So, in despair we went upstairs and got back to work. Then my mom phoned with the news of Mort�s demise. Joy.


from coldandgray :

Sorry to hear about your mother�s cousin. The holidays and winter can be tough.

from time2 :

81..wow, 85, holy shit! sorry for your loss El.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>