Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Four of the W’s unanswered

Sunday, Sept. 27, 2009
8:46 p.m.
The past few days have been spent in a mad attempt to get Hubby’s latest orchestra score ready for submission to the symphony. The due date, as per his contract, was yesterday. The piece was completed, I had copied it, but we were still in the process of correcting the myriad of mistakes I make when I input it into the computer. We sent them a pdf file of the first 24 pages yesterday, with a note that the rest was on its way. Today, with much diligence and attention to detail, I finished the corrections to what we’re calling the “first proof”, sent it off via email, and we went out to celebrate by eating too much food at the Indian restaurant. I even had a glass of wine.

Last night, when we realized there was no way we’d get the completed score to them on time, we went out for a bite to eat and to see a movie, the new one about the guy who works for a company with questionable business practices and decides to become an informant for the FBI. It wasn’t exactly what we were hoping for; that is, it wasn’t a rolling-on-the-floor-laughing kind of movie. But it was still good.

The surprise came when we looked for the restaurant right next to the cinema where we usually go for our pre- or post-movie repasts. It was gone, totally and completely gone. Where it and the upscale men’s clothing store next to it had been was a very large hole in the ground with heavy machinery at the bottom. I have no idea why or what, or even who or when. I just know where.

Now that the orchestral score is done, the process of parts extraction falls heavily upon my shoulders. It means undoing a lot of formatting I did to make this document look good. I wish it were as easy as selecting and pressing a button. That’s what people who do not know think I do. No, folks, it’s not. Also, when Hubby proofreads the parts, he always finds more mistakes in the score. Joy. I can’t wait until the performance next February.

Speaking of which, we have decided how March break is going to go. I will accompany Hubby to Toronto where this piece will be performed and his opera workshopped, and then I will continue to the west coast while he goes through a similar process out there with the opera company itself. He has promised to make it up to me with two weeks at our favourite Caribbean resort when school is out, in April, and this has appeased me somewhat.

When I pushed him as to why he was so anti my going somewhere without him that week, he said, “I just can’t stand the idea of you having fun while I’m out there working on my March break.” Okay, that’s understandable. At least now I’ll be out there with him, so we can both be miserable.

[That last was a joke. Get it?]


|

<~~~ * ~~~>