Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It makes one want to be a vegetarian. Wait! I am a vegetarian!

Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
8:06 p.m.
I have now seen what lies beneath the skin of a human being, and it is not a pretty sight. In the continuing saga of my daughter�s injury sustained during a drunken stupor, she called me this morning to let me know that the doctor at student health services had made an appointment for her with the plastic surgeon at the hospital at 3:00 p.m., and I arranged that I would pick her up at 2:30 and take her over there, which I did.

It�s a good thing we arrived early, as we got the usual runaround, being told at the main desk that we were to go to emergency, then being told that we were to go to out-patients, then being sent back to emergency where Little Princess took a number and waited to be called. Luckily it was not a long wait. The nurse took all her information, including her blood pressure and her temperature (all more or less normal), then had us sit again. In the waiting room, perched high in a corner, was a television tuned to some action/mystery/adventure show starring Tia Carrere (whom it took me quite a while to place [I never forget cheekbones like that, but names are another matter] as Wayne�s Chinese girlfriend in both Wayne�s World movies). The sound was turned down quite low, and even if it had been audible, it was dubbed into French, and the TV screen reminded me of my Quadra monitor--bright green. So, instead of black and white TV, we had black and green TV.

Eventually Little Princess� name was called and we headed (she hobbled) over to Room 8 where we were greeted by a really cute doctor and his assistant, also really cute. They removed the dressing covering my daughter�s wound, and I must say, it was much uglier than in the pictures she posted in her blog. Much uglier. The doctor proceed to use a scalpel to cut away the scab that had started forming in the middle, as there was dead skin under it that would impede proper healing, and my daughter yelped. So he then squirted some kind of anaesthetic into the mess, which also hurt, but deadened the sensation enough that she didn�t cry out again as he proceeded to cut away the nasty bits.

I watched all this, holding her hand, trying to make her laugh. But it was horrible. I have seen war movies where medics dig bullets out of thighs. This was worse. This was real, and it was my daughter who was on that table having her flesh exposed in this obscene fashion. It was like so much raw meat. After he was finished, the doctor filled in the crater (it really is a crater, but not big enough in his opinion to warrant skin grafting) with a white, antibiotic cream, then put an inch-thick pile of compresses on top and wrapped it over with gauze and then a tensor bandage. She bled through the bandage, but not much, and we filled a prescription for antibiotics that he gave her. She now has to call the clinic to have her dressing changed regularly. The biggest worry at this point is infection.

This is not over yet, but I think I have grossed you all out enough (I know I am thoroughly green from it) and will leave this topic for a while.

* � � � * � � � * � � � * � � � * � � � * � � � * � � � * � � � * � � � * � � � * � � � * � � �

In other matters, I was intereviewed by a first-year college student for one of her classes on what it was like being a �professional� singer. She was really nice and the whole process was very enjoyable. We lunched together in the loft while she asked me questions and I answered with my mouth full. Afterwards I joined the boys again until it was time to take Little Princess to the hospital. I dropped her at home afterwards and made it back for the second half of choir practice, and from thence rehearsed with the blues band. When I got home, my daughter and her friends� friend from Windsor, Germ, had arrived (he�s staying the week with us and is living in our basement guest room, which I got ready for him this morning, vacuuming, making the bed and cleaning the bathroom). I was hoping for an early bedtime tonight, but I put the breadmaker on after supper and, because we ended up eating so late, the bread won�t be coming out until 11:30. Sigh.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>