Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Combustion is imminent.

Monday, Nov. 27, 2006
5:34 p.m.
My body feels like it is on the verge of exploding. Apart from last night when Little Princess came home with her friends Ed and Ollie and a cinnamon-apple pie, and the two bowls of chocolate mint chip ice cream before that, then the banana muffin just two hours ago, almost immediately followed by the brownie I bought in the lobby from a girl in choir who was raising money for some student club, I’ve been pretty good about what goes into my proverbial pie hole. I stepped on the scale this morning and immediately stepped off again after seeing the damage total. Not good.

But I can’t blame the numbers on the overeating. I haven’t had a period in over two months and now I feel as though the wrath of my uterus is upon me: cramping, water retention, unutterable crabbiness, a feeling of uselessness and a desire to just crawl back into bed and stay there until I feel more like a human being and less like a banana slug. Ugh.

I met with my union rep today. He was very sympathetic to my cause, but then mentioned that perhaps we shouldn’t make our meetings generally known since he is also on the committee I will be facing when I try to get that seniority point back. He did agree with me, though, that there is something very wrong with the present evaluation system of music tutors. Between us we came up with a better solution, one that could be incorporated into the new collective agreement that is presently under negotiation. Instead of being assessed by the committee every year, music tutors could have periodic evaluations, perhaps every four years. Then there would be a large enough sample so that no one particular evaluation stands out damningly, and it would also go farther to ensure student anonymity. As well, since music tutors are essentially teaching the same thing no matter which course numbers their students are enrolled in, seniority points could be awarded on the basis of how many students are taught overall, not broken down by course number. I hope this works.

Now I’m off to belly dancing. While people on the west coast are experiencing snow and below average seasonal temperatures, and people in the middle of the continent are freezing their collective asses off, we are having the balmiest November I can ever remember here with rain and high temperatures. This is just bizarre.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>