Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Two pianos, four hands

Saturday, Nov. 27, 2004
11:32 p.m.
It was an early start today, up at 7:15 for a 9:00 a.m. choir practice. Luckily the girl to my right had a couple of extra-strength TyIen0I that she was willing to give away, and that took care of the bright morning light-induced headache I got on the way over. We rehearsed in the theatre and of course one side of the choir could not hear the other. It was frustrating, but nonetheless we got some rough spots a little more smooth. The first concert is less than a week away, and it�s a little scary. I know from the past that the choir always seems to pull it together, but this is the first time I am part of the process and this is by far one of the hardest pieces they have ever attempted. We shall see.

The reason the concert hall was unavailable for rehearsal today was because of the two-piano concert that took place tonight. I went to that and enjoyed it immensely. It was really fantastic. The pianists were both friends of Vlad�s, one from Montreal, the other more local, and Vlad put together an impromptu reception at her place afterwards. I stayed for a glass of red wine and a few crackers and brie, and had a nice time. Unfortunately there were only about 25 people at this concert. There�s just too much happening at this time of year.

I heard that the vocal recital last night, that of my former student, went very well and that she was gorgeous in a beautiful dress. Hey, that�s what it�s all about. If I am sufficiently curious, I can always listen to the recording that was made. I�m wondering how curious I really am. As time passes, I�m certain that feeling will fade. We shall see.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>