Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Alone again, naturally.

Friday, May 27, 2005
9:30 p.m.
The long-awaited jury took place this afternoon. It went better than I could have hoped, except that it didn�t, if you know what I mean. My student sang the way she always sings, every so often revealing the voice that she could have been developing, but most of the time performing as though she had never taken a singing lesson in her life. I also handed in my mark for her, which was not great, and the comment, which ended up not having anything to do with her singing at all. I stared at the blank page, totally unable to say anything nice or constructive and not wanting to launch into another diatribe as I did with the other student who disappointed me. I finally ended up scribbling some nonsense about how her having been so ill had prevented her lessons from having any kind of continuity and how I wished her the best in her future endeavours and looked forward to seeing her in choir. What a cop out!

The rest of the day included a trip to the barber with Buddy Boy, a game of backgammon lost to Buddy Boy (by one lousy playing piece!) while we had the coffee and cheesecake special at the Java (I had tea, he had the cheesecake) where we were joined by the singer and the conga player in Little Princess� band and whom we ended up driving to Shalimar where their ensemble was assembling for the Friday night buffet. Upon our arrival home, Buddy Boy promptly went off again when a friend called him up to have dinner in town (most likely at one of the �Greek� restaurants), so Hubby and I found ourselves alone again, which is starting to feel like a trend.

It did not rain today, but it did not shine either; nor was it really warm enough for me to wear sandals, although that�s what I did. According to the barber, this is the coldest May on record since Expo �67. I can bloody well believe it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>