Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Foggy Weather

Tuesday, Mar. 27, 2007
9:12 p.m.
I just read the diary of one of my friends here, someone to whom I have been a bit of rock during some rough times in his life, and I realized that I’m not really needed anymore. He sounds good, happy, like he’s having fun, and I feel superfluous. Very strange. It’s a little bit like the feeling I have when I see that my kids are really growing up and pretty soon won’t need me at all.

Sorry about that. It just hit me out of left field.

In the meantime, today was a very, very long day, starting with my having consumed a cup of tea at 8:30 or so last night, which kept me awake until after the clock struck 2:00 this morning. Not a good start. My cleaning lady came today, so that meant I had to get up early for her, I got some corrections made to some scores I had computer copied, then walked to the university to teach and have a marathon choir practice.

My baritone and I spent his lesson on the “People that walkèd” aria from Messiah, and I have a bad habit of singing along in his register (when I can, it’s mostly too low), but that was a mistake because it ends up tiring my voice mightily. This was followed by the aforementioned choir practice on the risers in Centennial Theatre. We did not break until 6:30 or so, a full two and-a-half hours after we started (it actually went later, but by this time I had stopped looking at my watch). We were all totally exhausted and all I wanted to do was go home.

I debated calling Hubby for a ride, but it was still light out (yay for daylight saving time!), so opted to walk, arriving at the foot of the driveway just as Hubby was backing the car out to come look for me. He had prepared supper, complete with a glass of wine, for which I was intensely grateful, and the plan is to get to bed early tonight and remain unconscious until I can sleep no longer.

It was very foggy today, the cold snow that remains on the ground inducing condensation from the warmer air above, and I brought my camera with me, taking photos on the walk to and from the campus, especially of the mist rising from the fields and the ice breaking up on the river. Buddy Boy has monopolized the computer upstairs, so I haven’t been able to dump them yet, but hopefully tomorrow I will have a little photo essay for you.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>