Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Don�t dye it, diet!

Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
8:04 a.m.
Yesterday I revelled in my slothfulness, performing the necessary �mom� tasks (laundry, meal preparation) that define my existence, but spending the rest of the day in front of the G5, chatting, playing, reading diaries. I could do this because Buddy Boy was at a friend�s place all day (he�s still there, having slept over) and the lovely, lovely toy was mine, all mine.

We didn�t strictly speaking do the chocolate thing yesterday. When the kids were little, I used to make trails of tiny, foil-wrapped chocolate eggs from their bedrooms down the hall, down the stairs, and ending at Cadbury creme eggs hidden beneath pieces of furniture. But they are no longer little and my daughter, for one, does not need any encouragement in the overconsumption-of-calories department. My son, on the other hand, had a hang-dog expression when he found out we weren�t doing the chocolate thing, so before he left for JD�s I came to him where he was shooting up enemy pixels on the G5, and said, �I know you don�t believe in Easter but you do believe in the Easter Bunny.� I reached into my bathrobe pocket and handed him the creme egg I had purchased during the week from hell before we left for the tropics. He was content.

Yesterday, while applying body lotion after my bath, I noticed that for the first time in my life I have �orange-peel� skin. I was a little shocked. I have been overweight, but never dimpled before. Before we went to Trinidad I weighed 111 lbs. I now weigh 115 lbs., and before you get in my face and start telling me that that is nothing, let me just add that I am not quite 5' tall, and that four pounds represents almost a dress size. I worked so hard to get rid of the weight that I�ll be damned if I�m going to let it creep back on again. The week before we left on holiday I was cramming the Eat-More bars. Then, of course, I was on holiday. It doesn�t take very long for that hard-fought battle to have the results overturned, especially as I near 50. So we�re back to the calorie-counting, get-used-to-being-hungry regime I was on before. I have a concert to perform in next Saturday, and I want to look good in my gown.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>