Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

From the frying pan into the fire.

Monday, Jun. 27, 2005
1:38 p.m.
I am writing this with a sick feeling in my belly. I reinstalled the system software, the printer started working perfectly and I was able to print out the pages I had been trying to print the other day when all this started. Then another sort of disaster struck.

Because my Quadra�s hard drive is miniscule, I save my work directly onto a ZIP disk. So, after printing out pages 25 to 31, I made corrections to page 32, and in the process of saving, the external drive went into a loop and an error message came up saying something that I didn�t understand but which meant that there was a problem. I could not get it to come out of its loop, so I had to restart the computer with the emergency button.

When I put the disk back into the drive, I got the message that it was unreadable, did I want it erased? I freaked. This disk has Hubby�s symphony on it, for heaven�s sake! I tried inserting it into the external drive we have attached to the G5, and it wouldn�t even recognize it. Luckily I was chatting with a friend who knows a thing or two about Macs, and he helped me extricate the disk from the drive.

So I started up N0rton UtiIities on the Quadra and tried to fix the damaged disk. It got so far and then told me it could go no further. My next option was to recover the files thereupon. The problem is, as mentioned above, the amount of free space on the Quadra�s hard drive is next to nothing. This means I can recover some files, then I have to turn off the computer to eject the damaged disk (because it doesn't show up on the desk top there is no other way and the drive doesn�t respond to the button being pushed), save the recovered files onto a different disk, trash the ones from the hard drive and start all over again. I think I�m almost done. If I can�t reopen those files with Finale, I think I�ll just slit my throat and be done with it.

It�s another scorcher. This doesn�t help. It also doesn�t help that I've missed lunch and that sour feeling in my stomach could just be overactive digestive juices with nothing to digest. I have one more batch to recover, then I�m taking a break, a well-deserved one, before I even try to access those files. Wish me luck, please?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>