Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sunshine makes me happy

Friday, Jan. 27, 2006
9:45 a.m.
At 8:40 a.m. my son telephoned from school as he had forgotten, in his rush to make the school bus this morning, the video camera which he needed for first block. Hubby was preparing to leave for the university, but was also in a hurry (what is it with these men not allowing themselves enough time to get ready?) so I agreed to bring Buddy Boy what he desired, and did so.

It is an absolutely beautiful morning. The sun is shining, the snow is gleaming and it is also brutally cold. The way to the high school is on Highway 108 which travels alongside the St. Francis, the same river which flooded last fall and which has not yet frozen over this winter. Today the open water was dotted with little patches of ice flowing along the surface and it was steaming, the rising vapour condensing in the frigid air, leaving the trees along the bank white with rime. The mist in the sunlight was beautiful, and I tried to keep it in view as I drove, when my nostrils were assailed by a horrible smell which I immediately associated with the pulp mill in East Angus. It wasn�t until I was driving homeward again (having received a grateful kiss and hug from my wee bairn) that I realized the reek was coming from the experimental farm to my left, the venue where the government is experimenting with pig feed in an attempt to deodorize the resulting porcine excrement. It�s not working.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>