Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Teenagers!

Wednesday, Apr. 27, 2005
8:09 p.m.
I am still procrastinating. My taxes remain undone. After extensive research, I have come to the conclusion that saucy99 is correct: there is something wrong with the movie-search feature in Diaryland. Perhaps I am not alone in my cinematic tastes.

Buddy Boy was in a foul mood when I picked him up from school after play practice. The power was out for 2 hours and 45 minutes this afternoon and they were supposed to have their dress rehearsal. This kind of put a damper on things. They will have to do it during class time tomorrow, and the play opens tomorrow night. The teacher/director also told them (something he has never done before) in the preshow pep talk that he has grave doubts as to the quality of this play and it is up to the cast members to really make it work. That would bum anyone out.

We are also experiencing a little bit of weirdness in the matter of Little Princess and her boyfriend-related behaviour. We had already told her with the old boyfriend that we didn�t want her and him screwing under our roof. Did she think that applied only to him? Her new boyfriend was over yesterday evening and accompanied her to her bedroom, in which they remained behind a closed door for many, many hours. Whether they were screwing or not is beside the point; Hubby and I are uncomfortable with this type of behaviour. I have never told him, but I was guilty of the same myself at her age, and now I realize how uncomfortable I must have made my own parents. This does not make it right. So we are contemplating the �talk�, wherein we express our discomfort and ask her to refrain from such activity while we are home. When we are out, she can do whatever she wants (bedroom-wise, that is), but to conduct herself with some kind of decorum when we are around. That�s fair, isn�t it? (You are probably wondering why they can�t go to his place. He lives at home with devout Baptist parents, and Little Princess is actually afraid to go over there after hearing that they made a previous girlfriend of his cry.)

I think I�m done here. Before I go, though, the weigh-loss tip of the day is: Hunger is your friend. Embrace it.


from eggsaucted :

When I still lived at home we had a similar rule. My parents would have been not so pleased had we screwed under their roof. My mother wasn't so thrilled when I stayed out all night but as long as I said that was what I was doing, it was allowed. Of course I was by then older than little princess. At little princess' age I was living 1000 miles away all but 3 weeks of the year.

from bindyree :

In my home when I was growing up, we lived by the golden rule: Whoever has the gold makes the rules. if Little Princess is employed and can pay rent and afford to have her own lock on her door, that's one thing -- but this is drastically different. You are not being unreasonable. :-)

from tcklyrpharsn :

Is she going to live at home while she goes to the big B? And if so... hmm. THAT might get weird.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>