Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m sick, sick, sick, sick, sick!

Monday, Sept. 26, 2005
7:45 p.m.
I am sick and miserable and desirous of sympathy and all I want to do is go to bed and sleep. So, you ask, why don�t I? Well, perhaps because Hubby is playing his new guitar in the living room and there isn�t a snowball�s chance in hell that I will be able to sleep with that going on. Add to that that I really, really wanted to do my Latin homework tonight and upon opening my knapsack and rooting around therein discovered that I didn�t bring home the verb synopsis forms that Patsy gave us today to conjugate deponent verbs, which are active verbs that take the passive form, and are the only ones that actually have active past participles. So, I can�t do that. Instead I looked at the piece for chamber players and narrator that I�m performing in less than a month�s time (I�m the narrator, or couldn�t you guess), and considering that it�s in French, I really should have started looking at it a while ago. But my throat is very sore, and I can�t read it out loud without aching after a while, so I just read it over in my head, which isn�t the same thing at all.

* sigh *

I went to class today, although I probably should not have, hepped up on ephedrin-augmented cold medicine, then taught my baritone a lesson, singing and everything (I sound like shit, believe me). We started working on the Handel (Why do the nations so furiously rage together) which is one hell of a hard piece. All those triplet runs! I also gave him another Schubert, Der Wanderer, and in time we will have a complete programme. My two o�clock student never showed, which is a little annoying, to say the least, and I don�t know if I should call or just wait until I see him in choir (which won�t be until Thursday because I have a dental appointment tomorrow) to glare at him and let him know of my displeasure. Glaring is so much more effective, especially if he�s surrounded by his peers. Hmmm. What to do?

Oh, I almost forgot, I did go to belly dancing tonight, which was also probably a mistake, but I�m glad I did. Our class is very small, only five ladies, so we�ll get more individual attention from the instructor. I�ll beat this dancing thing yet.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>