Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Java jive

Saturday, Nov. 27, 2004
7:36 a.m.
It is much too early to be up on a Saturday morning, especially after lying awake in bed for a very long time last night, unable to sleep because of the latt� I consumed at Java several hours earlier, but Herr Doktor Professor has called a choir rehearsal for 9:00 a.m. which is taking place in the theatre because the hall is not available. That�s another story, and it�s not really good enough for telling.

Little Princess and her BF joined me on my excursion last night. The caf� was packed with university students, only one of which I knew (who has actually graduated now) and one other whom I recognized in any significant way. I guess the music students were attending the recital I was avoiding, but Matt reassured me that he understood perfectly and would have done the same thing, but his excuse for not going to that one was that he was rolling sushi.

The performance last night consisted of a guitarist who wasn�t that good, singing mostly his own songs (not always in tune), accompanied by a female drummer (who was too loud) and my student on bass (actually the best part of the ensemble; or maybe I�m biased). They had already been playing for 15 minutes before we arrived, and around 15 minutes after that the drummer was dismissed. I had to ask her to loosen the snare from her drum set since it kept rattling during the next number where my student switched to keyboard to accompany his friend, now on acoustic guitar. That lasted for a couple of songs, then Jeff sat down and the guitarist continued on his own for several more songs until it was finally over.

I treated Little Princess to a mocha and had the above-noted latt�, and then drove them both to her BF�s before coming home myself to have a very pleasant online chat with a new Diaryland friend. I�m looking forward to more of those. Then I watched the latest episode of Enterprise with Hubby (whom I have hooked on this TV show) and went to bed, completely wired. That was very stupid of me.

But really I wanted to talk about the weather. On Thursday morning my son left for school dressed only in a sweatshirt for outerwear and I myself found it extremely warm when I went to Latin class. The sun was shining and it felt like late summer. However, during class, the sky darkened and the rumble of thunder was almost constant. It started to rain, cooling off the air considerably, and by nightfall there was snow on the ground. It�s not in the same class as my friends� in the mid-West who seem to have had a real snowfall, but it is absolutely freezing here now. We�ve had the woodstove going constantly (the first thing I did upon rising was put another log in) and I�ve had to wear my woolen socks to bed because my feet are like ice cubes.

Before I log off, I�m trying to think if there�s anything else I should be recording here. *several minutes of reflection pass* Nope, I guess not. Have a nice day everyone.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>