Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Back, but not for long.

Tuesday, May. 26, 2009
8:39 a.m.
The prodigal once more returns, whoever that may be. I was at yet another wedding, am home for two and-a-half days, and then get back in the car with my husband to return to the city of my birth so he can attend meetings and I can visit with my mom and daughter and then we can move our son back to the city of his birth for the summer. Have I mentioned lately how much my lower back hurts from all the sitting, especially in moving vehicles, I have been doing lately?

When we picked Buddy Boy up from his digs, he was working on a paper which was due yesterday for his film theory class, a mandatory course which he would rather not have taken. His topic was experimental and avantgarde cinema and he had to read a number of essays in order to get the information he needed. One was total gobbledygook. I can’t believe the built-in spell checker actually accepted that word. Wow. Anyway, after he complained about it enough, I read the article and had to agree with him; except that among the excessively long, grammatically incorrect sentences, were some actual gems of advice for the would-be avantagarde film maker. So I underlined those, summarized stuff in the margin, and handed it back to him.

The wedding itself was lovely. Little Princess played violin before, during and after the ceremony, my niece looked like a little girl about to burst with happiness, and her groom was beaming. Buddy Boy was handed a video camera and played cinematographer at the church and master of ceremonies at the reception. The bridesmaids were beautiful, the groomsmen were handsome, the weather was stunning, and even the hotel room we stayed in that night was very comfortable.

Saturday was also Little Princess’ champagne birthday (23 on the 23rd, projected high of 23°C and sunny) and my brother- and sister-in-law didn’t forget her either, having a cake ready. Her brother led the assembled celebrants in a rousing rendition of Happy Birthday and she blushed prettily.

The next day my mother-in-law made an early supper/birthday party, after which we drove back to Toronto and stayed overnight at my daughter’s and her boyfriend’s, leaving early yesterday to get home by suppertime, which we did. Now we have just enough time to give the car an oil and filter change and turn around to go back next weekend. Gah!




|

<~~~ * ~~~>