Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Weather

Thursday, Jun. 26, 2008
10:52 p.m.
When I finished updating last night, I came downstairs to put the dishwasher on and found my brother and my husband in the kitchen, drinking beer and talking. I awoke at 3:00 a.m. when my husband finally came to bed. This meant my brother had been up for 48 hours. What were they thinking?

Hubby and I attended a meeting this morning whereat the new principal-to-be was presented to the faculty and staff. He gave a little talk and then answered questions. It looks like we will finally have a principal who will do his job without interfering in the real business of the university, which is teaching students and doing research. Finally. The press was waiting for his emergence afterwards, and someone even interviewed me on my reactions to the presentation. So, if you were listening to the news today, you might have heard me.

A friend of Little Princess’ arrived this afternoon just as my brother and I were thinking about going for a walk, so the four of us went for a jaunt down the bike path and thence into town where my brother treated us to sherbet at the beer store. Then we walked home again.

This evening we had a lovely dinner at a restaurant in town called Auguste, Hubby, my brother, Little Princess and I, with our two friends the Drs. M. We’d been meaning to get together with them for ages, and this was a wonderful opportunity as they both wanted to meet my brother. The weather, though, was execrable.

After a very hot, sunny day, the skies suddenly turned dark and rain fell. We had incredible displays of thunder and lightning, and then at a certain point the skylights in the attic were pelted with chickpea-sized hail stones. The rain came down, the electricity put on its brilliant display, and this went on for a very long time. I was even chatting online wondering when I would lose power.

Anyway, all is quiet now. Tomorrow we’re going to Montreal for the jazz festival, and I’ll have another story to tell upon my return.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>