Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Done!

Tuesday, Jun. 26, 2007
9:41 a.m.
It’s hard to believe that I have not updated since Saturday. As I recall, my last famous words were that the corrections should go quickly. Well, some did. Others did not. Some of the others included making different page turns in the string parts, changes that meant reformatting everything. I was not pleased. Once the parts were corrected and reprinted (there are so many discarded sheets in my scrap paper drawer), we had to make corrections to the score. This in itself took hours, Hubby sitting at my side, turning pages over, consulting his notes and manuscript, telling me which movement, which measure number, which instrument. Even so, after printing the entire score this morning for him to take to the printshop, he is going over each page and finding more things that we missed in the correction process, some (although very few) that didn’t make it into the parts.

As I typed that last sentence, he said from the other side of the room, “Oh, I’m at the closing bars!” I think that means we’re done.

He has promised me dinner at a restaurant tonight and an evening at a jazz club. I think I can handle that, just as long as I am allowed to get stinking drunk (you know I won’t) in order to forget the events of the last few days.

Regular updating will resume forthwith.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>