Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It’s cold outside, no kind of atmosphere...

Friday, Jan. 26, 2007
11:55 p.m.
’Twas another frigid day. I had sort of hoped to avoid going out at all, but needed to get a new key card for the music department and pick up my new glasses lenses at the optometrist.

The university is changing the locks from old-fashioned key locks to these programmed card locks. You wave your card in front of a little black box with a light on it, which miraculously changes from red to green and the door unlocks. Fascinating. The only door that will respond to my clandestinely-obtained master key is the lower door at the back just beside my office, the office which I share with a bazillion other people.

So, with yet another thing to carry around in my purse, I drove into town, parked in front of the optometrist and picked up my new glasses. I’m wearing them now. They’re stronger than the old ones for distance, which means that reading things up close is harder. With my contacts, also new (I have Superman distance vision again), I have to wear reading glasses, just the lowest strength, but still. The joys of senescence.

This all meant that I had to pop next door to the Java (entering through the book store, but Janice was not in) to give Sam some business (since the Tim H0rt0n’s opened just four stores over he’s actually noticed a decrease in customers, which really is a bummer) and got a latte and a muffin, and had a nice chat with Sam. Then a woman who sings in choir, who used to be married to our vice principal academic and is now a crazy cat lady (not really, but it sounds good) came in, having also just been to the optometrist, so we ended up sitting together while she had a mint tisane. It was good.

Now I have returned from a night out to see the drama department’s annual winter offering of student-directed plays. It was a very strange programme, ranging from a philosophical discussion on love delivered by ancient Greeks, including Socrates, to a scene in a dentist’s office, aptly named Teeth. I sat with Lolly, formerly of my first-year Latin class and now the drama teacher at the college. A good time was had by all.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>